THE BINDING by Bridget Collins – book review

My 2020 reading has been such an incredible journey so far and hope to keep it this way.

I was browsing in Waterstones during sales and the assistant was such a lovely girl obviously knowing her books and authors. She recommended THE BINDING by Bridget Collins and The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I couldn’t chose one so I decided to purchase both.

I started THE BINDING and literally could not put it down. Such an original concept and so special for a book lover like me. Bridget Collins’s writing is flawless and transported me in a magical world where a book is not a simple story but a memory.

Emmett Farmer is working the fields when he receives a letter that summons him to begin an apprenticeship, working for a Bookbinder. This is not any kind of a job but one that arouses fear, prejudice and superstition. He will learn to hand-craft beautiful volumes, and within each he will capture something unique and extraordinary: a memory. If there’s something you want to forget, he can help. If there’s something you need to erase, he can assist. Your past will be stored safely in a book and you will never remember your secret, however terrible.

This book is an astonishing story reminding us just how powerful love can be. It is unique and left me speechless. I actually don’t know if I can ever find the right words to review this book. I feel small and maybe not qualified enough to write about it.

Conjuring a magic all of its own, The Binding is a richly imagined story of boundary-defying desire and prejudice wrapped in layers of enchantment, enigma and stunningly evoked detail. Peopled by fully-fledged characters that live and breathe from the book’s pages, it is a novel to fall in love with.

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

COLORFUL SISTERS

Traveling Fashion Designers 🌼

Laura Summers

Blogger, Writer and Small Business Marketing

The Alchemist's Studio

Raku pottery, vases, and gifts

Victoria Walters

Author and Blogger

The Blog

Surviving motherhood one book at a time!

My Cozy Cupful

books, tea(cups), and all things cozy

grace required

just being honest.

Drizzle & Hurricane Books

YA Books Blog, Book Recommendations, Book Blogging Tips

K.T. DADY

Author

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started